Beet Sugar vs. Cane Sugar: The Vegan Difference

cane_beet_sugar_vegan_differenceBakers and chefs worth their salt know not all sugar is created equal. Sugar comes in many forms and is derived from various plants. The two most common sources of sugar are beets and cane. In fact, Waffle Pantry’s pearl sugar is derived from sugar beets that flourish in the mild climate and rich soil of Belgium.

The primary difference between cane and beet sugar, aside from the fact that they come from different sources, is the refining process. In its final stages of purification, cane sugar is filtered through activated carbon (charcoal). The carbon source is often unclear but can be of animal, vegetable, or mineral origin. Beet sugar, on the contrary, doesn’t undergo this particular step of the refining process and therefore, from harvested beet to packaged sugar, remains vegan.

We’re very  proud of this vegan designation and the fact that we support over 5,000 farmers who are committed to growing non-GMO beets in Belgium. Their harvesting season is brief and runs from September to January. To ensure quality and freshness, the farmers are all located within 30 miles of the refinery where pearl sugar is made.  We are proud to offer Belgian pearl sugar that’s produced from a sustainable and pure source and we know you’ll appreciate the delicious results of using our sugar pearls in your favorite recipes. Happy baking!

Feel free to share this with friends and family:
Pin It

Comments

  1. Karla says

    Thank you for sharing this interesting information about the differences in the refining process between cane and beet sugars. I had no idea, and as a vegetarian, I appreciated learning about this fact. Yours, Karla

Share Your Thoughts